News Flash

Wright County News

Posted on: May 13, 2019

Board designates May 12-18 Law Enforcement Week


The County Board of Commissioners has proclaimed May 12-18 as Wright County Law Enforcement Week. Also known as National Police Week, this recognition was established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962. Nationally, this week is designated to recognize the service and sacrifice of Law Enforcement Officers.

As stated in the resolution presented to the Board, Wright County Officers have worked "devotedly and selflessly on behalf of the people of this County and the State of Minnesota, regardless of the peril or hazard to themselves ... these men and women of Law Enforcement, by their patriotic service and dedicated efforts, have earned the gratitude of our community."

Since 1858, there are seven Wright County officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty. 

Constable Charles Albert Washburn, shot in 1884

Sheriff John C. Nugent Jr., shot in 1922

Marshall Rudolph Maurer, shot in 1922

Sheriff Paul Kritzeck, vehicle accident in 1951

Sheriff James Kreitlow, heart attack in 1963

Chief George Ryti, vehicle accident in 1977

Sheriff Roger Wrobbel, heart attack in 1980

See a draft of the full Resolution signed by the County Board at it's May 7, 2019 meeting.

Facebook Twitter Email