News Flash

Wright County News

Posted on: January 7, 2020

Husom Named County Board Chair for 2020

The Wright County Board of Commissioners held its annual board reorganization to start its Jan. 7 meeting, unanimously voting District 1 Commissioner Christine Husom as the board chair for 2020 and District 4 Commissioner Mike Potter as the vice chair for the year.

It has been the practice of the Wright County Board for decades to rotate the chairmanship equally between the commissioners. Husom last served as chairperson in 2015. She replaces District 2 Commissioner Darek Vetsch, who was the board chair in 2019.

Husom said the workload isn’t very much different than other years as a commissioner, but there are some key aspects of being the chairperson that differ.

“When you’re in this position, you kind of serve as the face of the board,” Husom said. “The biggest difference is that the board chair signs all contracts and resolutions on behalf of the county, so there is more responsibility in this position. You also run the board meetings and direct how a meeting flows. Every commissioner has their own style as to how they run meetings. I hope to do a good job of that in the coming year.”

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Wright County News

Husom Reflects on County Plans for 2020

Posted on: February 4, 2020

Confusion Remains Over New T-21 Law

Posted on: January 3, 2020

Board Approves 2020 Meeting Schedule

Posted on: January 2, 2020

Tobacco 21 Ordinance To Take Effect Jan. 1

Posted on: December 23, 2019

County Board Sets 2020 Budget, Levy

Posted on: December 17, 2019

Parks Open for Winter Recreation Programs

Posted on: December 16, 2019

REAL ID Deadline Getting Closer

Posted on: December 16, 2019

Long Range Transportation Plan Adoption

Posted on: October 14, 2019