- Finance & Taxpayer Services
- License Center
- Class D Written Test
Class D Written Test
The License Center offers testing on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. Appointments can be made up to 30 days in advance.
Walk ins will be accepted with priority given to those with appointments. Walk ins are accepted during the same hours as appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8am-11am and 1pm-3pm.
****No testing is offered at the License Center on Mondays or Fridays****
The Wright County License Center is an approved third-party proctor for Class D (Permit) Written Exams. There is a $10 fee to take the test at our location. The knowledge test is offered electronically only, and it can be taken in English or Spanish.
The Class D written knowledge exam is needed for new drivers wanting to obtain an Instruction Permit, current drivers transferring their out of state license to Minnesota or current Minnesota residents whose driver’s license or permit has been expired for more than one calendar year.
To make an appointment, Click Here
Everyone must provide proper identification documents and their social security number prior to taking the exam. In most cases, a Primary Document will be your certified birth certificate or current US passport along with your social security card would acceptable proof documents. Any certified name change documents such as Marriage Certificates or Court Ordered Name Changes are required if your name on your primary document does not match your current name.
For applicants under 18 years old, the ‘Blue Card’ from the mandatory classroom course is also a requirement. For drivers transferring their license from another state, you must provide your current driver's license or driving record.
You can find the full acceptable requirements list here:
If you have taken and failed the Class D Knowledge Exam three times, you are required to test at a state exam station for additional tests.
All road tests are by appointment at State Exam locations only in accordance with state statute.
If you need to take a Commercial Driver License Written Exam or a Motorcycle Permit Written Exam these are provided by limited walk-in service at State Exam Stations only.
If you need to schedule a written or a road test at a State Exam Station, you will need to call 651-284-1234. This is a state-wide scheduling number. You will be asked to choose the location of your exam. You may also schedule online at www.drive.mn.gov.
The Wright County License Center offers printed driver’s manuals for a fee.
Class D: $5
The electronic version of the driver’s manuals can also be found online at www.dps.mn.gov.