Class D Written Test

The Wright County License Center is an approved third-party proctor for Class D Knowledge Written Exams.  This service is offered by appointment only on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. Appointments can be scheduled up to 30 days in advance. There is a $10 fee to take the test due at time of test.  The knowledge test is offered electronically only, and it can be taken in English or Spanish.  The Class D written knowledge exam is needed for new drivers wanting to obtain an Instruction Permit, current drivers transferring their out of state license to Minnesota or current Minnesota residents whose driver’s license or permit has been expired for more than one calendar year.  

To make an appointment, Click Here

Everyone must provide proper identification documents and their social security number prior to taking the exam. For applicants under 18 years old, the ‘Blue Card’ from the mandatory classroom course is also a requirement.  For drivers transferring their license from another state, you must provide your current driver's license or driving record.  

You can find the full acceptable requirements list here:

If you have taken and failed the Class D Knowledge Exam three times, you are required to test at a state exam station for additional tests. 

All road tests are by appointment at State Exam locations only in accordance with state statute.

If you need to take a Commercial Driver License Written Exam or a Motorcycle Permit Written Exam these are provided by limited walk-in service at State Exam Stations only.

If you need to schedule a written or a road test at a State Exam Station, you will need to call 651-284-1234. This is a state-wide scheduling number. You will be asked to choose the location of your exam. You may also schedule online at

The Wright County License Center offers printed driver’s manuals for a fee.

Class D: $5
Motorcycle: $5
Commercial: $10

The electronic version of the driver’s manuals can also be found online at