Torrens Property


Torrens is a system for registration of land under which, upon the landowner's application, the Court may, after appropriate proceedings, direct the issuance of a certificate of title. The Certificate of Title is kept in the office of the Registrar of Titles. With the "abstract system" an abstract is evidence of title. In the "Torrens system" the certificate of title is the title.

In Minnesota the County Recorder is the Registrar of Titles. The Registrar is an arm of the District Court and under its control. The Registrar must examine documents presented and determine that they meet the legal requirements to transfer the property and issue Certificates of Title which are proof of ownership for the purchaser. 

Wright County Torrens Property Listing
Interactive GIS Map - Beacon

Turn on the Torrens Layer in Beacon to see if your property is Torrens

Go to Layers and click on:


Landshark - search Torrens records online 

Public Access Room - make an appointment to view Torrens records in the Recorder's office 

Please contact the Recorder's office Monday through Friday 8AM - 4:30 PM with questions on how to search public records.  Phone:  763.682.7357

Please contact the Chief Deputy Recorder and Registrar of Titles Kelly Day with Torrens questions at Phone: 763.682.7359

Wright County Examiner of Title Information


History of Torrens Title

In 1858 Australia adopted a registration system for land based on the ship registration system. In subsequent years, England, Canada and several other counties including the United States adopted similar land registration systems.

The Torrens system was 1st used in the United States in 1895 in Cook County, Illinois after the Chicago fire. In 1901 Minnesota legislature enacted a statute by which land could be registered in counties with a population of over 75,000 which included Hennepin, Ramsey and St. Louis. In 1909 the act was amended to make the law applicable to the entire state.

20 states have experimented with the Torrens system. Today Torrens exists in 9 states: Minnesota, Massachusetts, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, New York, North Carolina, Ohio and Washington.