Since the start of COVID-19, young prospective drivers looking to get their learner’s permit often had to travel many miles to one of the few Minnesota Department of Vehicle Services (DVS) exam stations that remained open around the state during the pandemic. But, that is about to change.
Starting Thursday (Oct. 8) the Minnesota Department of Public Safety’s DVS Division will offer the testing for the Class D license knowledge test online. The test must be proctored by an adult age 21 or older who has a valid Minnesota driver’s license. During the State Legislature’s 2020 session, a bill was passed to allow the online system for knowledge testing. Gov. Tim Walz signed it into law in July and the system was tested in a pilot project in September.
The Class D knowledge test will also be available at authorized third-party testing locations like driving schools, school district driver education programs and deputy registrar’s offices. It should be noted that the License Bureau in the Wright County Government Center has never administered knowledge tests and will not be part of the testing process expansion.
The process is as follows:
Go to www.drive.mn.gov and select the “Take a Class D Knowledge Test” link.
Follow the prompts and DVS will send an email with a link to the online knowledge test site as well as a test ticket number, a unique security code and testing/proctor instructions.
Once you register for the online knowledge test, you will have 48 hours to take the test.
Online testing will be available Monday through Saturday from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
Once you log in to the testing site, you will have 30 minutes to complete the test before it will time out.
When the test is complete, DVS will record the test results in the Driver Services system.
Those who pass the test can complete the pre-application online at www.drive.mn.gov before visiting a testing station office to complete the driver’s permit application.
Those who fail the test are told to follow DVS guidelines provided and restart the process to take the test again. Individuals can only take the test once per day and are only eligible to complete two attempts online. Those who fail the test twice will need to schedule a third test at an open exam station and pay a $10 fee.